- Alaska Marijuana Laws
- Arizona Marijuana Laws
- Arkansas Marijuana Laws
- California Marijuana Laws
- Colorado Marijuana Laws
- Connecticut Marijuana Laws
- Delaware Marijuana Laws
- Florida Marijuana Laws
- Hawaii Marijuana Laws
- Illinois Marijuana Laws
- Indiana Marijuana Laws
- Maine Marijuana Laws
- Maryland Marijuana Laws
- Massachusetts Marijuana Laws
- Michigan Marijuana Laws
- Minnesota Marijuana Laws
- Montana Marijuana Laws
- Nevada Marijuana Laws
- New Hampshire Marijuana Laws
- New Jersey Marijuana Laws
- New Mexico Marijuana Laws
- New York Marijuana Laws
- North Dakota Marijuana Laws
- Ohio Marijuana Laws
- Oregon Marijuana Laws
- Pennsylvania Marijuana Laws
- Rhode Island Marijuana Laws
- Vermont Marijuana Laws
- Washington Marijuana Laws
- Washington, DC Marijuana Laws
- West Virginia Marijuana Laws
2016: The governor signed a bill allowing for the medical use of cannabis.
2018: The regulations were amended to add additional qualifying conditions and allow for the vaporization of whole plant, flower cannabis.
2018: The state’s first medical marijuana dispensaries opened for business.
In 2016, Governor Tom Wolf signed SB 3, legalizing the use of marijuana for qualifying medical conditions. Initially, only non-smokable forms were permitted for use (pills, oils, gels, ointments, etc.) however, in 2018, the Health Department revised the regulations, allowing whole plant, flower cannabis to be vaporized.
Can I possess, buy or grow marijuana in Pennsylvania?
Patients with a qualifying condition are eligible to use medical cannabis. Possession cannot exceed a 30-day supply. Qualifying conditions include but are not limited to HIV/AIDS, Crohn’s disease, Autism, Cancer, Huntington’s disease, Multiple Sclerosis, Parkinson’s disease, PTSD and Sickle Cell Anemia. Patients may designate up to two caregivers who can assist with obtaining medical marijuana. Only state-permitted growers, processors and dispensaries can grow and sell medical cannabis.
Can I operate a vehicle while under the influence of marijuana in Pennsylvania?
No, it is illegal to operate a vehicle with any amount of a Schedule I substance in the blood.
How do I get a medical marijuana card in Pennsylvania?
Pennsylvania’s Department of Health is responsible for issuing medical marijuana cards. To obtain an ID card, you must register through the Medical Marijuana Registry, have an approved physician confirm that you suffer from one of the qualifying conditions and pay a $50 fee.
Can I use marijuana in public in Pennsylvania?
No, homes and private residences are the only permittable locations for marijuana consumption.
Can I sell marijuana in Pennsylvania?
Only state-permitted dispensaries can sell medical marijuana. The first dispensaries opened and began serving patients and caregivers in 2018.
The information presented here should not be construed as legal advice. State and Federal laws are always subject to change. We aim to keep this page as updated as possible; however, for additional information regarding Pennsylvania marijuana laws, please see Find Law and the National Conference of State Legislatures.