- Alaska Marijuana Laws
- Arizona Marijuana Laws
- Arkansas Marijuana Laws
- California Marijuana Laws
- Colorado Marijuana Laws
- Connecticut Marijuana Laws
- Delaware Marijuana Laws
- Florida Marijuana Laws
- Hawaii Marijuana Laws
- Idaho Marijuana Laws
- Illinois Marijuana Laws
- Indiana Marijuana Laws
- Kansas Marijuana Laws
- Kentucky Marijuana Laws
- Louisiana Marijuana Laws
- Maine Marijuana Laws
- Maryland Marijuana Laws
- Massachusetts Marijuana Laws
- Michigan Marijuana Laws
- Minnesota Marijuana Laws
- Montana Marijuana Laws
- Nebraska Marijuana Laws
- Nevada Marijuana Laws
- New Hampshire Marijuana Laws
- New Jersey Marijuana Laws
- New Mexico Marijuana Laws
- New York Marijuana Laws
- North Carolina Marijuana Laws
- North Dakota Marijuana Laws
- Ohio Marijuana Laws
- Oregon Marijuana Laws
- Pennsylvania Marijuana Laws
- Rhode Island Marijuana Laws
- Texas Marijuana Laws
- Vermont Marijuana Laws
- Virginia Marijuana Laws
- Washington Marijuana Laws
- Washington, DC Marijuana Laws
- West Virginia Marijuana Laws
Medical (Comprehensive) and Recreational (Comprehensive)
1973: While not totally decriminalized, Oregon lowers the penalties associated with possession – instead of a crime where prison or heavy fines are recommended, cannabis infractions become tantamount to speeding tickets where a person is found with an ounce or less in public. Moreover, private possession or use is no longer considered a punishable offense.
1998: Ballot Measure 67, passed by 54% of voters, addresses the use of marijuana for medicinal purposes in the State of Oregon, legalizing cultivation, possession and use of cannabis for people with qualifying medical conditions.
2014: Recreational marijuana use is officially legalized. Retail dispensary and growth and possession legislation specifics continue to follow.
Oregon has a long and generally warm history with marijuana, both medicinally and recreationally. With the exception of a few instances of ordinances that criminalized the growth, possession or use since the early 20th century, the residents of Oregon have been pragmatic about its benefits.
In the wake of the Temperance movement and Prohibition in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, Oregon had initially followed suit and criminalized marijuana in 1935. It wasn’t until 1973, nearly 40 years later, that Oregon voters officially declared ‘marijuana possession and use shouldn’t necessarily be legal, but it certainly shouldn’t be criminalized’. From that point until the present day, Oregon residents made forward progress in first legalizing medical use in 1998, and later legalizing recreational use in 2014.
It should be noted that while recreational purchasing, possession and use is legal in the State of Oregon, those with qualifying medical conditions are able to obtain more with fewer restrictions.
Can I possess, buy or grow marijuana in Oregon?
A person 21 years of age or older can legally possess up to eight ounces of consumable marijuana and have up to one ounce on him or herself at any given time. It is, however, not legal to purchase or use in public.
Adults of legal age may purchase up to:
- one ounce of usable marijuana (dried leaves and flowers)
- five grams of cannabis extracts or concentrates
- 16 ounces of solid cannabinoid product
- 72 ounces of liquid
- 10 seeds or
- four plants
- Card-carrying patients with qualifying medical conditions may purchase up to 24 ounces of usable marijuana.
Homeowners may grow up to four (4) plants; renters should check with their landlords for specific rules or restrictions.
Can I operate a vehicle while under the influence of marijuana in Oregon?
It is illegal for anyone to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of any marijuana product in Oregon.
How do I get a medical marijuana card in Oregon?
Patients with qualifying conditions may apply for a medical marijuana card by applying online with the Oregon Health Authority.
Can I use marijuana in public in Oregon?
It is illegal to use marijuana, medicinal or otherwise, in public in Oregon. Public consumption of marijuana may result in a fine of up to $1,000.
Can I sell marijuana in Oregon?
Only licensed and registered retailers in the state of Oregon can sell marijuana to adults ages 21 and older. Marijuana can also be gifted to individuals, barring any exchange or promise of money.
The information presented here should not be construed as legal advice. State and Federal laws are always subject to change. We aim to keep this page as updated as possible; however, for additional information regarding Oregon marijuana laws, please see the Oregon state website, Find Law and the National Conference of State Legislatures.