- Kansas Marijuana Laws
- Louisiana Marijuana Laws
- Alaska Marijuana Laws
- Arizona Marijuana Laws
- Arkansas Marijuana Laws
- California Marijuana Laws
- Colorado Marijuana Laws
- Connecticut Marijuana Laws
- Delaware Marijuana Laws
- Florida Marijuana Laws
- Hawaii Marijuana Laws
- Indiana Marijuana Laws
- Idaho Marijuana Laws
- Maine Marijuana Laws
- Illinois Marijuana Laws
- Maryland Marijuana Laws
- Massachusetts Marijuana Laws
- Michigan Marijuana Laws
- Minnesota Marijuana Laws
- Montana Marijuana Laws
- Nevada Marijuana Laws
- New Hampshire Marijuana Laws
- New Jersey Marijuana Laws
- New Mexico Marijuana Laws
- New York Marijuana Laws
- North Dakota Marijuana Laws
- Ohio Marijuana Laws
- Oregon Marijuana Laws
- Pennsylvania Marijuana Laws
- Rhode Island Marijuana Laws
- Vermont Marijuana Laws
- Washington Marijuana Laws
- Washington, DC Marijuana Laws
- West Virginia Marijuana Laws
Medical (Comprehensive) and Recreational (Comprehensive)
2000: Voters pass the Nevada Medical Marijuana Act, known as Question 9, effectively legalizing medical marijuana.
2016: Recreational marijuana is decriminalized through the Nevada Marijuana Legalization Initiative, known as Question 2.
2017: Recreational marijuana cultivation, possession and usage becomes legal.
Nevada was the fifth state in the union to legalize marijuana for non-medical use via Senate Bill 374. Despite Nevada’s legalization of medical marijuana in 2000, legislation specifying the rules for obtaining, possessing and consuming marijuana wasn’t enacted until 2014, with the first legal dispensary opening in 2015. Recreational marijuana legalization now allows persons over the age of 21 toobtain, possess, consume and grow cannabis products with certain restrictions.
Can I possess, buy or grow marijuana in Nevada?
Regarding medical purposes, it is legal for an official card-carrying resident of Nevada who is at least 18 years of age, or those with cards from other states that have also legalized medical marijuana, to obtain and possess up to two and a half ounces of marijuana every 14 days. Medical conditions that are generally accepted as qualifying for marijuana use are chronic or debilitating issues including but not limited to:
- Muscle spasm (MS, MD) and neurological disorders that affect muscle use
- Extreme pain
- Extreme nausea, and
Nevada residents who are medical marijuana patients can have no more than 12 plants, no more than six actively growing or flowering simultaneously, and are required to be at least 25 miles or further away from a licensed dispensary.
For recreational purposes, Nevada residents who are at least 21 years of age, with a valid state ID, can purchase up to one ounce of flower or up to an eighth of an ounce of concentrate from dispensaries.
Can I operate a vehicle while under the influence of marijuana in Nevada?
While driving with marijuana in a vehicle, completely sealed and out of sight, is perfectly legal, operating a vehicle under the influence of any cannabis product is prohibited.
How do I get a medical marijuana card in Nevada?
Patients with qualifying, physician-documented conditions may apply for a medical marijuana card by visiting the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health’s (DPBH) website and completing and submitting an application with a check or money order for $25.
Can I use marijuana in public in Nevada?
It is illegal to use marijuana, medicinal or otherwise, in public in Nevada.
Can I sell marijuana in Nevada?
Only licensed dispensaries in the State of Nevada are authorized to sell marijuana. Sale by individual, whether medical or recreational, is strictly prohibited.
The information presented here should not be construed as legal advice. State and Federal laws are always subject to change. We aim to keep this page as updated as possible; however, for additional information regarding Nevada marijuana laws, please see the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH), Find Law and the National Conference of State Legislatures.