- Alaska Marijuana Laws
- Arizona Marijuana Laws
- Arkansas Marijuana Laws
- California Marijuana Laws
- Colorado Marijuana Laws
- Connecticut Marijuana Laws
- Delaware Marijuana Laws
- Florida Marijuana Laws
- Hawaii Marijuana Laws
- Illinois Marijuana Laws
- Indiana Marijuana Laws
- Maine Marijuana Laws
- Maryland Marijuana Laws
- Massachusetts Marijuana Laws
- Michigan Marijuana Laws
- Minnesota Marijuana Laws
- Montana Marijuana Laws
- Nevada Marijuana Laws
- New Hampshire Marijuana Laws
- New Jersey Marijuana Laws
- New Mexico Marijuana Laws
- New York Marijuana Laws
- North Dakota Marijuana Laws
- Ohio Marijuana Laws
- Oregon Marijuana Laws
- Pennsylvania Marijuana Laws
- Rhode Island Marijuana Laws
- Vermont Marijuana Laws
- Washington Marijuana Laws
- Washington, DC Marijuana Laws
- West Virginia Marijuana Laws
2011: Governor Jack Markell signed legislation approving the use and possession of up to six ounces of marijuana for patients 18 and older with serious medical conditions.
2015: The Governor signed legislation decriminalizing the possession of one ounce or less of marijuana.
In 2011, the Delaware Marijuana Act made it so card carrying patients could use and possess up to six ounces of medical marijuana. The first state-licensed dispensary was opened in June 2015.
Can I possess, buy or grow marijuana in Delaware?
Patients over 18 years old with qualifying conditions may possess up to six ounces of marijuana at one time. Qualifying conditions include but are not limited to Alzheimer’s disease, cancer, HIV/AIDS, nausea, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, seizures and more. Medical marijuana must be purchased from a state-licensed dispensary. It is illegal for anyone, even patients, to grow cannabis for personal use.
Can I operate a vehicle while under the influence of marijuana in Delaware?
No. A person is guilty of a DUI if they operate a vehicle under the influence of a drug.
How do I get a medical marijuana card in Delaware?
In order to acquire a medical marijuana card in Delaware, you must first obtain written statement from a physician diagnosing you with a qualifying medical condition. Then, you must submit a $125 application fee and the physician’s recommendation to the Delaware Department of Health and Social Services. If approved, your card will be issued by the DHSS and you will be able to obtain medical marijuana from a state-licensed dispensary.
Can I use marijuana in public in Delaware?
No. The use of marijuana in public is a criminal offense.
Can I sell marijuana in Delaware?
At this time, only state-licensed dispensaries are able to sell marijuana in Delaware.
The information presented here should not be construed as legal advice. State and Federal laws are always subject to change. We aim to keep this page as updated as possible; however, for additional information regarding Delaware marijuana laws, please see Find Law and the National Conference of State Legislatures.