- Alaska Marijuana Laws
- Arizona Marijuana Laws
- Arkansas Marijuana Laws
- California Marijuana Laws
- Colorado Marijuana Laws
- Connecticut Marijuana Laws
- Delaware Marijuana Laws
- Florida Marijuana Laws
- Hawaii Marijuana Laws
- Idaho Marijuana Laws
- Illinois Marijuana Laws
- Indiana Marijuana Laws
- Kansas Marijuana Laws
- Kentucky Marijuana Laws
- Louisiana Marijuana Laws
- Maine Marijuana Laws
- Maryland Marijuana Laws
- Massachusetts Marijuana Laws
- Michigan Marijuana Laws
- Minnesota Marijuana Laws
- Montana Marijuana Laws
- Nebraska Marijuana Laws
- Nevada Marijuana Laws
- New Hampshire Marijuana Laws
- New Jersey Marijuana Laws
- New Mexico Marijuana Laws
- New York Marijuana Laws
- North Carolina Marijuana Laws
- North Dakota Marijuana Laws
- Ohio Marijuana Laws
- Oregon Marijuana Laws
- Pennsylvania Marijuana Laws
- Rhode Island Marijuana Laws
- Texas Marijuana Laws
- Vermont Marijuana Laws
- Virginia Marijuana Laws
- Washington Marijuana Laws
- Washington, DC Marijuana Laws
- West Virginia Marijuana Laws
1970: The Controlled Substances Act is passed, making cannabis use, possession and growth illegal nationwide.
2011: Governor Daniel Malloy decriminalizes marijuana in the State of Connecticut. While an offender would only face a fine of $150, as opposed to the potential for a lengthy jail sentence, this piece of legislation did not officially legalize cannabis in Connecticut.
2012: A medical marijuana program is signed into law.
Despite a kindred relationship with hemp growth and production (rope, sails, clothing, etc.) throughout the state’s history and especially during World War II, Connecticut has only recently passed legislation that allows for residents with qualifying medical conditions to possess and consume marijuana. Additionally, possession laws for those who are card-carrying residents are incredibly strict and require careful diligence and adherence.
Connecticut also makes a slight exception for those who are found to have a half ounce of marijuana or less on their person at any given time. While not completely decriminalized, these individuals are only fined up to $150 and generally don’t face jail time.
Can I possess, buy or grow marijuana in Connecticut?
In a recreational capacity, it remains illegal to possess, buy or grow marijuana in the State of Connecticut. However, those found with half an ounce of cannabis or cannabinoid product will typically only face a fine of $150 or less and usually won’t face jail time.
With regard to medical possession and use, those who have qualifying and physician-documented conditions can legally obtain, via licensed dispensary, up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana. Common, qualifying medical conditions include but aren’t limited to:
- Parkinson’s disease
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Chron’s disease, or
- Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
Medical marijuana laws in Connecticut also consider certain debilitating medical conditions for patients under 18. These include, but aren’t limited to:
- Cerebral Palsy
- Cystic Fibrosis
- Severe Epilepsy
- Terminal illnesses where end-of-life-care is required
- Uncontrolled Intractable Seizure Disorder
Other criteria that must be met include: the patient must be a Connecticut resident and he or she must not be an inmate in any institutional or correctional facility.
Can I operate a vehicle while under the influence of marijuana in Connecticut?
It is illegal for anyone to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of any marijuana product in Connecticut.
How do I get a medical marijuana card in Connecticut?
Patients with qualifying conditions may apply for a medical marijuana card with the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection.
Can I use marijuana in public in Connecticut?
It is illegal to use marijuana, medicinal or otherwise, in public in Connecticut.
Can I sell marijuana in Connecticut?
Only licensed and registered dispensaries in the State of Connecticut can sell marijuana to card-carrying patients.
The information presented here should not be construed as legal advice. State and Federal laws are always subject to change. We aim to keep this page as updated as possible; however, for additional information regarding Connecticut marijuana laws, please see the Connecticut state website, Find Law and the National Conference of State Legislatures.