November 2010: Proposition 203 legalized the use of medical marijuana in the state of Arizona.
November 2016: Proposition 205, which would have legalized recreational marijuana use, was defeated by a margin of 51.32% to 48.68%.
Considerations and statewide propositions for legalized medical marijuana in Arizona date back to as early as 1996. After three failed attempts to legalize medical marijuana in the state of Arizona, voters accepted and passed Proposition 203 in November of 2010. Arizona was the fifteenth state to legalize medical marijuana.
In November of 2016, Proposition 205, known as the Arizona Marijuana Legalization Initiative, was rejected by voters. This would have allowed for persons of at least 21 years of age to possess and ostensibly use one ounce of marijuana. As of April 2017, it is still illegal to possess or use marijuana recreationally in Arizona; doing so may result in felony charges that carry a maximum sentence of 3.75 years if convicted, according to the National Organization for Reform of Marijuana Laws.
Can I possess, buy or grow marijuana in Arizona?
No person may possess, buy or grow marijuana in the state of Arizona, with the exception of licensed medical-marijuana dispensaries and patients with certain qualifying conditions, including but not limited to:
- Crohn’s Disease
- Alzheimer’s Disease
Those who carry a valid medical marijuana card in Arizona may purchase up to 2.5 ounces from a state-licensed dispensary at 2 week intervals, or may also choose to cultivate up to 12 plants if he or she lives more than 25 miles from a qualifying dispensary.
Strictly regarding medical marijuana: growth, distribution, possession and use are monitored and managed according to law and the Arizona Department of Health, as well as licensed medical professionals.
Can I operate a vehicle while under the influence of marijuana in Arizona?
As of Thursday, December 22, 2016, a patient who has legally obtained and used medical marijuana is now protected from DUI charges in Arizona as long as certain qualifications are satisfied. A patient may now contest the charges, and the responsibility to prove that the driver was too impaired, regardless of blood test results, falls squarely on the arresting officer.
How do I get a medical marijuana card in Arizona?
Patients with qualifying conditions may apply for a medical marijuana card by visiting The State of Arizona’s Department of Health Services website.
Can I use marijuana in public in Arizona?
It is illegal to use marijuana, medicinal or otherwise, in public in Arizona. Additionally, it is at the sole discretion of any property owner to deny marijuana use or ingestion on premises.
Can I sell marijuana in Arizona?
Licensed, registered medical marijuana dispensaries in the state of Arizona operate on a not-for-profit basis; dispensaries are reimbursed only for expenses incurred. A number of qualifying conditions, including a $5,000 application fee, must be met to apply for a dispensary registration certificate. All other sales are strictly prohibited.
The information presented here should not be construed as legal advice. State and Federal laws are always subject to change. We aim to keep this page as updated as possible; however, for additional information regarding Arizona marijuana laws, please see the Arizona Department of Health Services website, Find Law and the National Conference of State Legislatures.